RBC Taylor Prize Luncheon in Photos

As you know by now, we had a great time at the 2019 RBC Taylor Prize Luncheon on Monday, March 4, 2019. This was the event at which Kate Harris was named the big winner, and it consisted of a lovely—and pretty fancy—affair with lots of food, drink and bookish conversation flowing. If you’re wondering what this kind of event looks like, well, we’ve got you covered. Don McLeod brought along his trusty camera and captured some great photos.

Ballroom Omni King Edward

The event was held at the Omni King Edward hotel in Toronto–a suitably grand venue for the occasion.

Hampton photo projectd on window

The ballroom looked fantastic, with photos of the shortlisted authors projected just so.

Program and shortlisted books.

Of course the shortlisted books made their appearance at the event, alongside the event programs.

Tim Inkster, Ian Hampton

Tim Inkster and shortlisted author of Jan in 35 Pieces Ian Hampton enjoying some wine and hors d’oeuvres just before the luncheon.

Ian Hampton and Sue Round

Ian and his partner, Sue Round, enjoying their lunch.

Noreen Taylor

After everyone’s bellies were full, Noreen Taylor, founder of the prize and chair of the Charles Taylor Foundation, made a short and eloquent speech.

Ian Hampton speaking at Taylor Prize luncheon

Each finalist also got a moment to speak about his or her book and the writing process before the big winner was announced. David Staines, a trustee of the prize, posed the questions.



Many thanks again to Don McLeod, as always, for providing us with photos. Hope you enjoyed a small peek at this fancy literary event.Steph

This entry was posted in Letters from the Porcupette (the Intern's Blog) and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RBC Taylor Prize Luncheon in Photos

  1. Pingback: The Porcupine’s Quill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The Porcupine's Quill would like to acknowledge the support of the Ontario Arts Council and the Canada Council for the Arts for our publishing program. The financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Book Fund (CBF) is also gratefully acknowledged.